stillusa.blogg.se

How to use veracrypt on external hard drives
How to use veracrypt on external hard drives









Maybe - I don't really know - it is possible and better and more convenient to mount veracrypt volumes with cryptsetup. Example: veracrypt -fs-options=uid=XX,gid=XX -password=XXXXX -pim=0 -k "" -protect-hidden=no -mount /dev/sdb /PATH/TO/MOUNTPOINTīesides, duckduckgo found this page for me:

how to use veracrypt on external hard drives

To mount this drive on other systems, you will need to use VeraCrypt. Choose the USB drive from the list (choosing the entry that includes a drive letter), click ‘Mount’ and enter the password you entered earlier in the process. If I specify all options, that veracrypt asked for as visible in /var/log/syslog (for this I added one option after the other and restarted.). To do this, with VeraCrypt open, select an available drive letter from the list and click ‘Select Device’.

How to use veracrypt on external hard drives install#

So for my case it works now with the command-line option -non-interactive: veracrypt -non-interactive -password=XXXX -mount /dev/sda1 I encrypt all my external hard drives with VeraCrypt and hence, it’s one of the first apps I install every time I upgrade to a new version of macOS.

how to use veracrypt on external hard drives

wanted the specification of the mountpoint (where to mount), whether hidden-volume-protection was needed etc. In /var/log/syslog I could see then, that the veracrypt command called by rc.local behaved different and expected interaction with the user, e.g. In this case the script ran without interaction, did not bring up the GUI and mounted the drive. I observed, that this script did not work if called during startup by /etc/rc.local while it worked without problems when called in TErminal after complete bootup with sudo. It contained only the veracrypt-mount-command, in which I put in the password: veracrypt -password=XXXX -mount /dev/sda1 Therefore I put a small bash-script in /usr/local/sbin. After confirming the Volume Size screen, enter and re-enter the password you want to use to encrypt your data. Then, r ight click (control + click) on the drive icon and select Encrypt (drive name) from the drop-down menu.

how to use veracrypt on external hard drives

I also tried to mount an external veracrypt-encrypted drive during startup via /etc/rc.local. If you are unsure of which to choose, leave the default settings of AES and SHA-512. Open the Finder window and locate your external drive on it. Maybe I can give some hints - but I am not very experienced, so please consider security issues for yourself:









How to use veracrypt on external hard drives